Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 8, 2020

President Donald J. Trump The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We are deeply concerned by recent reports that you are considering a resumption of explosive nuclear testing, something the U.S. has not done since 1992. We urge you in the strongest terms to reject this awful idea both because it is technically unnecessary and because it would represent a dangerous provocation.

The United States long ago replaced explosive nuclear testing with an annual assessment process through the U.S. Department of Energy's Stockpile Stewardship and Management Program (SSMP). These annual assessments rely on science and advanced simulation to rigorously examine each weapon system and ensure they remain safe, secure, and effective. Successive Republican and Democratic administrations have strengthened the SSMP, investing in science-based policy to resolve many stockpile issues. Indeed, many experts have testified that the SSMP has helped us to know far more about nuclear weapons than we ever did in the testing age.

A return to nuclear testing is not only scientifically and technically unnecessary but also dangerously provocative. It would signal to the world that the U.S. no longer has confidence in the safety, security, and effectiveness of our nuclear weapons. It would needlessly antagonize important allies, cause other countries to develop or acquire nuclear weapons, and prompt adversaries to respond in kind—risking a new nuclear arms race and further undermining the global nonproliferation regime. None of these developments would improve America's national security or strengthen its position in the world.

We strongly oppose any resumption of explosive nuclear testing, especially in light of the SSMP's demonstrated track record over the last 20 years. Taking this unnecessary and provocative step would be an abdication of America's scientific leadership and would weaken our ability to make the world a safer place to live. We urge you to remain committed to the SSMP and science-based stockpile stewardship, and we look forward to your timely response.

Sincerely,

Bill Foster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Ron Wyden

Ron Wyden United States Senator

CC: The Honorable Dan Brouillette, Secretary of Energy CC: The Honorable Mark Esper, Secretary of Defense

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Salud O. Carbajal Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

Ben Cardin United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Patrick Leahy United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

James R. Langevin Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Susie Lee Member of Congress Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Patty Murray United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Brian Schatz United States Senator

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

Ben McAdams Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress Andy Levin Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Peter J. Visclosky Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress